LoriTheLaw – Twitter Part 1

Posted: February 2, 2011 in Me & Technology

So, yesterday I began blogging after being inspired by another teacher’s blog and I made the promise that by the end of this month I would know how to use Twitter and more about it in general. Well, yesterday was a productive day! I already had a Twitter account and two people I was following (not that I’d ever seen anything they’d tweeted since the day I signed up a year ago) so I rediscovered my account, set up a profile, and made it look the way I thought I’d like it to look (for now).

After my mini-celebration at being so tech savvy that I could actually flesh out my Twitter profile, I set to figuring out how to “extend my reach”. So, I started by looking for the name of the teacher whose blog I’d been inspired by and ‘lo and behold I found her. So, I figured that since she found such a rich collection of information, resources and support from the people she followed, I could have a look and explore the people she was following much like I would explore an annotated bibliography. After I was done there, I had 13 people I was following, but I didn’t stop there!

My next stop was the woman who had pointed me to the teacher’s blog. I remembered her having talked about Twitter in other posts so I looked her up and repeated the process. Needless to say I am now following 28 people and there are 7 people following me! I don’t know who a number of those people are and I find that fascinating because I am such a technophyte, but hey, I followed a bunch of people I’d never heard of or met before too!

So, today I continued to explore, and I quickly spent four hours roaming the internet and exploring the incredible stuff that people have shared. Wow! That’s really how I feel. I’m not quite so overwhelmed anymore, because I’m taking the time to explore each thing in bite size chunks and get a real feel for the new tools I’m discovering. So, I’m still calling myself a technophyte, because learning one aspect of a new tool does not a geek make, but it’s definitely a step in the right direction!

My next challenge will be to figure out how Twitter can benefit the kids in my classroom. Yeah, yeah we have a cell phone ban, but it won’t be the first time I’ve closed my classroom door and done something I know is good for kids and will enhance their learning experience — one day educators everywhere will embrace technology and use it the way we should.

Comments
  1. I’m glad to see another teacher entering the world of Twitter and blogging. I began Tweeting about a year ago, but it wasn’t until the beginning of this school year that I stared taking full advantage of Twitter. I stopped following people who didn’t contribute to my learning and started sharing what I do in the classroom, my thoughts on education, and blogs and websites that I have found helpful. Since beginning to Tweet professionally, I feel that I have become a more well-rounded educator. Good luck on your journey and try not to get overwhelmed when you are inundated with more information than you know what to do with.

    • armstrongl12 says:

      Thanks for the encouragement. It’s been an exciting start as I’ve been avidly reading and collecting links for the past week. I have to admit I had to be away for the weekend and I had momentary stress thinking that I would be inundated with more blog entries and Tweets than I could possibly handle, but the stress was for naught. It’s still a straight up learning curve when it comes to Twitter, but what a great ride it’s been so far!

Leave a Reply

