LoriTheLaw – Twitter Part 2

Posted: February 17, 2011 in Me & Technology, Twitter

Well, it’s been a little over two weeks since I was inspired to begin my journey of becoming a 21st century educator and I couldn’t be happier. In a time period that’s been filled with challenges and triumphs, I feel like I’m light years ahead of where I was just fourteen short days ago. How can that truly be possible?

Fourteen days ago, I decided that I would learn how to use Twitter.I began following about fourteen people, I’m now up to 45 and I’m following a list as well. Seven days ago I inspired another teacher to get into Twitter and began teaching him how it worked. Yesterday, I entered a contest for my classroom using Twitter (I submitted four entries / tweets!) and today, well today I emailed my principal and asked him if we could explore a Twitter account for my school after reading Brendan Schneider’s HOWTO: Start Using Twitter For Your School. One paragraph into that email and I had volunteered to set up the school’s Twitter account, to teach other staff how to Twitter, and to take responsibility for the school’s Twitter account (running all school posts by him or another admin first). I went on to explain how I felt it would be an appropriate, timely, and innovative way of reaching out to our parents and our community.

How, or rather when, did I stop being a Twitter neophyte and instead become confident enough in my brand new skill that I volunteered to teach other people or represent my school? I really don’t know when it happened, but I do know that all of the incredible information and support I’ve received from people I don’t even know has given me the courage to put it out there.

All I can say is thank you. Thank you to the Twitterverse and for all of the incredible educators out there who share and support newbies like me.

So, my next challenge (not that I even remotely know everything there is to know about Twitter), do I explore the new Google site I’m creating or continue participating in the three wikis I’ve joined or maybe I will find another blog or five to add to the twelve I’ve already got in my reader or….and the list goes on.

Two weeks ago I was afraid of learning about one thing and instead I’ve learned about multiple things and there is no looking back. Look out 21st century, here I come!

Comments
  1. Lori,
    Thanks for the mention and congrats on your jump in Twitter and social media. If I can be of any help please don’t hesitate to let me know.

    Keep up the great work!
    Thanks,
    Brendan

    • Lori A says:

      Thank you Brendan. I really enjoyed your post and sent it on to my principal to read. You explained it so eloquently and I was far too excited to make much sense. And thanks for the offer of help — I will definitely keep that in mind.

Leave a Reply

