Put your money where your mouth is…

Posted: March 6, 2011 in Me & Technology, Twitter

One month ago if you’d told me that I’d be blogging, Twittering, and offering to teach others (parents and colleagues) how to do it, I’d have told you you were crazy. But, that’s exactly where I am now and I couldn’t be happier.

On Thursday, @joe_bower from my PLN shared a “How To: Twitter for Educators”. I immediately jumped onto my Board’s email client and shared the link. What followed next was the surprising part for me — I offered to teach anyone who was interested in learning how to Twitter, how to Twitter. I even left detailed instructions on how to access my Diigo bookmarks and then to find my Twitter lists so they could explore on their own if they preferred. Now, as of today, no one has taken me up on my offer, but it is the week before our March Break and I have been quite zealous in what I share with my colleagues so who knows.

The second part of my offer went to my principal when Technology Night for Parents was shared by my PLN and I immediately saw the value of the idea for my own school. Not only did I offer to teach a night or two, I offered to establish this initiative and maintain it (because I don’t already wear enough hats in the building) because it’s a great idea. A great idea that will benefit parents, the community and ultimately our school and our kids. What’s not to love?

So, if you’re thinking that Twitter might be a good thing to explore, but you’re worried about jumping into something new at a time of the year when you may not have a lot of energy left to spare, my recommendation to you is to just do it. Twitter, blogging and my ever expanding PLN have re-inspired me and helped me find my excitement once more and nothing is more energizing than that.

So, give yourself a chance and try it. Who knows, you may just end up like me and love it!

Oh, and if you want a semi-fluent tutor — I’m game. We can Skype and I’ll talk you through it!

Leave a Reply

