I’m just a little bit scared…

Posted: March 24, 2011 in Uncategorized

I’m just a little bit scared…There, I said it. Yesterday, I began the work of coming back to work. I’ve been out of the world for almost a year because of some health issues and in six days, I’ll be back in my classroom.

Now, I know I’m a good teacher and I love what I do, but Twitter and my PLN have introduced me to a whole new world that I want to bring into my classroom, but can I do it in three months? I’m scared that I’ll slip back into the ‘safe’ routine that was my classroom because it’ll be easier than tackling the new world I know exists. I have lesson plans in place (I created them for my covering teacher), but they’re the old way I taught and I want to embrace the things I’ve learned in the last two months and let my kids show me what they want to learn.

To be fair, I know that one of my classes will be easy because I already taught it the way I want to teach my other classes, but it’s the other classes that have me scared. Will the kids resist the change? Will the kids resist because it’s just easier to stick with the traditional method or they’re tired and don’t want to figure out something new? Will my colleagues think I’ve lost my mind in the past year? Will I care? All of these questions and many more are exploding in my brain and I needed to put it down on ‘paper’ so I could move on and get a move on with figuring out what I’m going to do with and for my kids.

So, yep, I am just a little bit scared, a little bit worried, but most of all, I’m excited — a lot! I can hardly wait to tackle this next step and share where we go. The Twitterverse, the twenty odd blogs I follow, and my PLN have provided me with ample ideas and resources and I am ready to go and put them into action. So, look out world, here I come.

And thanks — for sharing, for listening, and for caring.

Leave a Reply

